Building 4090 with 7800xd .. need some advice

Dec 20, 2023
Visit site
So.. I’m about to embark on building my first ever PC and I’m kind of scared. I was able to snag a gigabyte gaming oc 4090 at msrp price today so want to build around that. It seems like the 7800xd is the best for gaming so I think that’s going to be CPU.

For the case I’m thinking the Lian li 216. Now that begs the question of what kind of mobo to get? I’ve seen other people with similar builds and they go for the tomahawk b650 or similar. These seem to get some mixed reviews so I’m not sure if there’s something better. I’m down to spend the money if it’s worth it, just not really sure what I’m getting in return. I’d definitely like good audio quality if there’s a difference between models and brands. I don’t really care much about the aesthetics although that certainly doesn’t hurt.

This is my first time so I’m still learning all the terminology and stuff. For example, I see people saying they need to flash the bios. I have no idea what this means. I also see people “flashing bios on a usb and to have that ready”.. again I have no idea what that means and it sounds down right terrifying. The building part seems easy.. just like legos.. but those parts I’m not so sure about..

It looks like this is a good mobo for my needs?

What kind of ram, power supply and cooling would you guys suggest for this build?

This is my current build:

Thanks!

Last edited:
Reactions: Brian Boru
any b650 mobo will do.
as for "flashing the bios", it's necessary for the the revision of your board's software to be compatible with new processor series, like 7000x3d. usually it needs to be done via flash drive -quickest and safest way.
that can be taken care of by the retailer though, just say you may need it. maybe the board already has a compatible bios on it, they'll tell you if you ask.

Dec 20, 2023
Visit site
any b650 mobo will do.