What Inexpensive PC Game to Validate Hardware?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 15, 2023
Visit site
All - newbie here, and really I'm not a gamer, but watch lots of YouTube videos on hardware since I am a bit of a hardware freak, and most of those channels use game performance to benchmark PC builds. I am getting ready to put together a budget offline system and have a few other PCs on which I would like to get some idea of FPS. I got The Witcher 2 but honestly I can't for the life of me get past even the first obstacle. Is there a low-cost, game I could get where I don't have a big learning curve to play the game, that would give me a representative idea to compare FPS between machines? Thanks,

LB

Reactions: neogunhero
Fortnite is free and will squeeze the crap out of most PCs with lumen enabled. Or do you want a GOG game specifically to run games offline ? If that's the case, just see what's on sale. Witcher 3 should be cheap by now, and theres nothing too difficult in the early chapters.

You can play Steam games offline as well, but GoG is great for DRM free games and has a sale going on right now.

Meanwhile, you might want to check out Red Dead Redemption on Steam. It's not quite as complicated as Witcher games, is on deep discount right now and will challenge your computer pretty well. The Resident Evil 4 remake is on sale now, too, and is extremely uncomplicated to play.

I agree with @Jörmungandr about using 3D Mark to test your PC’s maximum performance, but if you want real world gaming performance, you should try Control Ultimate Edition. It’s on sale on Steam for $10, the download isn’t too huge (42GB on disk, I think download was closer to 25-35GB), and the graphics are great. It will push your graphics card as well as your CPU. Gameplay is fun and can be easy if you use a controller with aim-assist.