Question No idea where to start for Gaming PC, Please help.

Nov 27, 2020
Visit site
Hi! I am a complete novice when it comes to computers. I am wanting a gaming PC for my son & husband who play fortnight and COD. We are also installing an indoor golf simulator (called Trackman). It will be hooked up to a projector and screen and I want the graphics to be great. I am considering this PC from JB HiFi... https://www.jbhifi.com.au/products/msi-trident-as-10sd-gaming-desktop-1tb-rtx-2070-super
Would it be sufficient? Or overkill for my needs? Anything this doesn't have you think I will need? Or am I better off getting one custom made. Any advice on what I should be looking for would be great. Thank you!

I really can't comment as to the Golf simulator software, but the system requirements seem to be well within your budget at least. The system you linked shouldne have a problem with it.

As an example build, using the same processor but with a much faster graphics card and much better quality components overall.

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: Intel Core i7-10700F 2.9 GHz 8-Core Processor ($341.39 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($34.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Asus TUF GAMING Z490-PLUS ATX LGA1200 Motherboard ($179.94 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws V 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3600 CL16 Memory ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: PNY XLR8 CS3030 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive ($124.99 @ Amazon)
Video Card: Asus GeForce RTX 3080 10 GB TUF GAMING Video Card ($726.99 @ Staples)
Case: Phanteks Eclipse P400A ATX Mid Tower Case ($76.98 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: be quiet! Pure Power 11 700 W 80+ Gold Certified ATX Power Supply ($99.90 @ B&H)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit ($108.78 @ Other World Computing)
Wireless Network Adapter: Asus PCE-AX58BT PCIe x1 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax Wi-Fi Adapter ($57.99 @ Newegg)
Keyboard: Corsair K63 Wired Gaming Keyboard ($76.48 @ Amazon)