Difference between PC and Console gaming?

Jan 24, 2022
Visit site
I worked in the IT industry for 20+ years. I'm retired now but held the highest technical position available at a 55,000 user Fortune 500 company 4 years back. But I have never been into PC gaming except a bit in the early to mid 90's. My son in law plays PlayStation and Xbox games. He is now talking of sinking some heavy dollars in to a gaming PC. He has absolutely no experience with computers. I suspect he will be wasting a good bit of money getting into something he's not going to enjoy. Its also very annoying to watch a father waste a tax credit that is really for his children.
Enough of my background and gripe - on to the question.
Whats the difference between PC Gaming and Playstation/Xbox gaming.

[Mod edit: changed title for clarity from the unhelpful "Need some advice".]

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum!

Hm, where to start, well without writing a book about all the differences between PC and console (playstations/xboxs/nintendos) gaming ill just say playstations and xboxs are built mainly to just play games but PC's can do so much more than just play games, in a lot of instances they look, play and run better on PC too, but PC's are the more expensive option.

PCG Jody

Staff member
Dec 9, 2019
Visit site
One of the differences between PC gaming and console gaming is how cheap the games can be to buy. Subscription services like Game Pass change things of course, but if you want to own games then between constant sales, the number of cheap indie games on PC, and the huge library of old games that remain playable and are usually discounted, I find buying games much cheaper on PC.

(Obviously if you only buy new games on day one, that's not going to be the case.)

The amount of old games around is significant too. If you're into working through the history of a series or genre, PC is usually the best place to do that.