Please help. Computer Crashing issue

May 21, 2023
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm new here and i've joined to try and get some help with a PC I built for my nephew that keeps crashing. I also have an interest in the forum too.
I'm kind of at my wits nd with this.

Just a little background information. apologies for the long post I just anted to make sure everything is covered.

I am 35 years old. been building PC's for about 15 years. never a problem I couldn't fix. I'm self taught from the days of pentium 4 through core 2 duo and quad and 1st through to 4th gen intel I series and now recently 2 10th gen Intel builds and my own ryzen 5600x build. I have configured Raid hard drives, and done some overclocking too.

So what I'm trying to say is I'm not new to this but I 100% don't claim to know anywhere near as much as some people or most people here.

set up is as follows;

MSI Z690-P
32GB 3200mhz kit of 2. RAM XMP enabled
intel I5 12600K
corsair H100i AIO cooler
RTX 4080 non overclocked version
M.2 nvme4 SSD
3 other hard drives for various storage (from old computer)
Corsair 850W gold PSU
Had windows 10 MBR (issue occued)
now has windows 11 EUFI secure boot (issue occurs still)
checked 4080 firmware
latest nvidia drivers
latest windows updates
latest motherboard drivers
Latest Bios
4080 connected to 3 x separate power cables from PSU
both motherboard ATX cables used 8 pin and 24pin

so the issue is that it just randomly goes black screen and all fans spin up fast and you have to hold the power button in to turn off and restart as normal.
this is random..ish. I reinstalled windows installed drivers, did updates, installed steam, ran 3D Mark, got about half way in. and did the black screen. rebooted and then did it again just on desktop.. then it can run for a hour or 2 without doing it. no blue screens just back.

The motherboard settings are a bit more complicated than AMD or what I've seen before with tones of settings and P cores and E cores and Create Genie mode etc.