Do you view your avatar as an extension of yourself or as their own character?

Aug 20, 2023
Visit site
In line with this, I have a few more questions to encourage more detailed answers:

What do you exactly aim for when customising your character: recreating yourself in the game or maybe a more idealised version? Experimenting with a new way of being that doesn't necessarily match your real life self, but is still identifiable as you in the game?

Or is it simply a character that is separate from you, created in a way that is similar to how authors do when writing a story? I guess it's also how we experience games with fully pre-established characters like Lara Croft, Geralt, Nathan Drake, etc

Welcome to the forum :)

For members info, OP said in Intro thread:
"I joined this forum primarily for research purposes. I'm a doctoral student interested in studying avatars/playable characters and players' relationships and identification with them."

Their own character. I don't play RPGs, but when I get a choice—eg recent Far Cry games—I pick an attractive female so I have an aesthetically pleasing character to look at on screen.

Occasionally I'll make a handsome muscular bold Scandinavian version of what I am in real life, but for the most part, I like to switch things up by playing both male/woman. I have a majestic beard in real life, so I try to wear that in-game, but unfortunately, most games suck at hair customization options making you look like you are wearing Gollum's hair. I do often play with a Caucasian darker rawhide skin theme because that is what I am used to in real life. The are exceptions though and right now I am playing BG3 with a main female Drow character who is dark grey-skinned. In some games like the Battle Royale game PUBG, different clothing attires look better with different skin colors, so I like to switch a lot in that game depending on what I want to wear.