Any advice on a new gaming monitor?

Oct 8, 2020
Visit site
Like 1000+ other people, I'm also in the market for a new monitor. I've read several posts here and done a bit of research already, but I'm no monitor expert by any means, so any advice would be much appreciated.

Current setup:
  • Ryzen 5 2600
  • ASRock B450M Pro4
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8 Gb
  • MSI GeForce RTX 2060 Ventus 6G OC (probably upgrading somewhere in the next 12-16 months; no preference for AMD or NVIDIA)
  • Current monitor: iiyama ProLite E2473 HDS 1920x1080 (around 9 yrs old)
Goals:
  • Preferably QHD 27 inch; 2560x1440 pixels. It's time to say goodbye to 1920x1080, no?
  • 60 fps would be nice, but not lower than 30 fps
  • Preferably pretty settings
  • No competitive gaming
  • Next to no multiplayer (I mostly play singleplayer games)
  • Games like RDR2, Cyberpunk 2077 (when its finally there), Dying Light 2 (when its finally there); so overall pretty demanding titles I reckon
Budget: 300 to 350 euro (= 360 to 420 USD). I live in the Netherlands.

Monitors I'm considering at the moment:
  • LG 27GL850 (~520 USD)
  • MSI Optix MAG272CQR curved (~420 USD)
  • MSI Optix G27CQ4 curved (~410 USD)
  • Gigabyte G27QC curved (~380 USD)
I'm inclined to go with the MSI Optix G27CQ4: it has Freesync and I read that, although not officially, its G Sync compatible. But I never had a curved screen and I have doubts about that; it sounds a bit counter intuitive; I worry that everything looks a bit warped? The LG is out of my price range, but I've read very good reviews so I'm willing to consider it (or at least willing to wait until its a bit cheaper perhaps).

Any advice or experience with those monitors would be much appreciated! Or perhaps you would advice a monitor I haven't considered yet? And are my doubts about a curved screen justified?

Thanks in advance!

Hi!