Where did the destruction go!?

Zloth

Community Contributor
I watched this video and got surprised by entry #7
View: https://youtu.be/RyxbhyLwnCg?si=goj5iVZ74jQhJtDr

He's right, the destruction physics has been fading away. There's still some here and there in various games and even some games that concentrate on them, but the popularity seems to be going down, not up. NVIDIA's included physics engine never seems to get an update anymore, either.

Falcon blames it on the way we focus so much on realistic graphics, but I'm dubious about that. First, I would think that all the dynamic lighting and raytracing stuff would make destruction easier, not harder. I'm no graphics expert so I could easily be wrong there, but, I mean... "dynamic" and "tracing" aren't static things. Second, the trend downward pre-dates the latest graphical bells and whistles.

I think the answer, as for most of his points, is that it just doesn't improve the game enough to spend time/money developing it.

Red Faction: Guerilla for example sold about a million games, which isn't bad, but is similar to games that don't have extensive destruction mechanics. So developers have very little incentive on adding them to games that will probably sell fine without them. Which you also see with Far Cry, another example named in the video, where removing destruction mechanics doesn't seem like it impacted sales negatively at all.

I wonder did the destructibility get many player kudos, beyond the initial ooh and journalistic hype? He showed some of it from Far Cry 2 and Crysis. FC2 fans rave about the fire mechanics in it, so I turned on longer & wider fires in the FC6 mod I use. Cool for a few times, but then it was mostly in the way, waiting around for it to subside before I could go in and loot the goodies or access a building, or whatever. I turned it off.