PhD gaming reception research: Survey of opinions!

Hello!

My name is Jemma, I'm a PhD research student at the University of Leeds currently undertaking a reception study in videogames translation.

I am looking for participants willing to spare me a little time (20min on average) to fill out this online survey on their perceptions and expectations of certain games based on some pictures. It shouldn’t take too long, and it gives you opportunities to voice your personal experiences and thoughts, as well as be instrumental in world-first research!

All data is entirely anonymous, so you are free to speak as frankly and honestly as you want to – there are no wrong answers! The more opinionated, the better!

Survey here: https://forms.office.com/e/aqkdG1QTnZ

This data will be used to create a vital framework by which gamers define genre classification, so I'd love to have as many participants as possible :)

Your time is greatly appreciated, and if you know anyone else who may be interested in participating, please share! Thank you!

Welcome to the forum :)

Survey seems legit.

Jemma, some issues:

"4. I agree to take part in the above research project and will inform the lead researcher should my contact details change."
This should probably be split into 2 points, as many probably won't share their contact details at all, and could be put off by this apparent statement that their details are somehow being collected anyway.

"45-54
65 and older"
You missed the age range 55-64.

"Which of the following videogame genres have you heard of, if any?"
Hah, you got me—I wasn't expecting to see a genre I didn't recognize :)
Other participants: did you miss one too?

However, your genre list in #8 & #9 needs some improvement, in that you include some sub-genres, but not others—examples:
First-person Shooter (FPS)—but not Third-person;
Realtime strategy game (RTS)—but not 4X or RTT.