Keyboard and mouse seems inferior to a controller. Am I wrong?

Jan 8, 2023
Visit site
I am new to PC gaming. I have spent decades gaming on console. As you can imagine, gaming with a keyboard and mouse is foreign to me. What I cannot imagine is why anyone would want to use a keyboard and mouse?? When using a keyboard, I am constantly looking down at the keys to make sure I press the correct one. This process isn't bad when playing a game with little input, but playing something like Cyberpunk is wildly frustrating with a keyboard. How do you play a game that has dozens of keyboard inputs without constantly looking down?? I know how to type on a keyboard. Not a useful skill in this sense.

Reactions: Brian Boru
You answered your own question in your first sentence. Youre new to PC gaming. You will most likely grow to prefer kb/m in some genre of game. I was a console gamer for a long time and even tho i had a fondness with PCs and had them, i never actually "gamed" with them. So for the first year or 2 of me playing games on PC, especially FPSs i was still using a controller. Fast forward to today and i cant imagine gaming without a kb+m. I only use a controller in very select instances like couch co-oping or fighting games.

Muscle memory helps, doing it from a young age. Pretty sure the vast majority of competitive FPS players are using mouse and keyboard, I definitely find it way better although I only play single player games and I'm bad. Complex strategy games are much slower with a controller.

I still play melee or fighting games with a controller, and driving is easier for me on one too, but some people use mouse and keyboard for everything and prefer it.