CPU upgrade advice

Oct 4, 2021
Visit site
Hi everyone, I have a PC built by Overclockers that is an ASUS B350 mobo, CPU Ryzen 7 1700 and x2 8GB RAM 2133.

Mum has bought me an AMD Ryzen 7 3700x for Christmas. I am not a huge gamer, I just play the Sims 4 and we wanted to get it ready for Windows 11.

I was under the impression that it would be compatible but I am concerned after researching about two things:

Is 2133 RAM compatible? I read that it should be 3200 if you want really fast gaming but I only play The Sims 4. Is this RAM acceptable or will I definitely have to upgrade?

Will a Corsair CS550M be compatible PSU?

Someone said CPU will throttle with VRM? What does this mean? I don't do any overclocking or anything. Any advice appreciated as I am a complete noob. Cheers!

Reactions: Brian Boru
Correct DDR4-3200MHz at the very least but you could try and pick up DDR4-3600MHz. I'd get a CX unit or a something higher in tier like the TX or RM. PSU's are like hearts, they have a heart attack, the system's dead.

Mind sharing the exact model of your motherboard? If the VRM is lackluster in design and layout, then yeah you will need to look at a B450 or a B550 Chipset motherboard.

Oct 4, 2021
Visit site
Correct DDR4-3200MHz at the very least but you could try and pick up DDR4-3600MHz. I'd get a CX unit or a something higher in tier like the TX or RM. PSU's are like hearts, they have a heart attack, the system's dead.

Mind sharing the exact model of your motherboard? If the VRM is lackluster in design and layout, then yeah you will need to look at a B450 or a B550 Chipset motherboard.
Is 2133 RAM not compatible at all? I don't do overclocking or gaming and I read somewhere that if you buy 3200, it will most likely be at 2400 and you will have to enable DOCP etc. Would my current PSU be compatible though? Thanks.

I have ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. PRIME B350-PLUS (AM4)

Cheers for the help.

Reactions: Lutfij