Solved Black screen, loud fans, have to reboot

Nov 18, 2020
Visit site
Hey guys, I need help troubleshooting this issue!

I built my first PC a couple months ago and over the last month or so I have been experiencing an issue where my my screen goes black, the fans seem to go into overdrive and the only way to fix is to reboot. During this the actual PC stays on as I can still hear music, sound ect. I have updated all my drivers with clean installs which hasn't fixed the issue. This issue can happen a few hours into gaming or literally as soon as I sign into the desktop after not using the computer for 24 hrs...

Something to also note is that I have upgraded my monitor around Christmas time last year from a BENQ Rl2455 @ 50/60Hz to ASUS 279QM @ 144Hz. I never experience this issue with my previous monitor so this could potentially be a factor???

My specs are as follows:

View: https://imgur.com/72zUa27

View: https://imgur.com/ogmXpqN

I am still very new to the PC game so any help at all would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you

Solution
SOLVED!

So I went ahead and did a reseat of my CPU, applying good aftermarket thermal paste. I then installed an extra 4 case fans which gave me 3 in 3 out. Updated my BIOS and all my drivers. Yet the problem still persisted... So I started on your suggestions.

Turns out it was a power issue after all. Since this was my first build I didn't realise there was a designated VGA output on the back of my PSU, I had just been using the cable labelled VGA which was in the bundle of cables running power to the MB and the rest. The fix was as simple as using the supplied VGA cable, plugging it into the VGA output on the PSU and obviously straight into the GPU. Problem solved!

Hope this can help some people out and thank...
Hi! Are you monitoring temperatures while you are gaming on your CPU and GPU? I assume you are using the AMD boxed cooler on the CPU?