PC powers on only at repair shop

Nov 2, 2023
Visit site
I've Been using a system I built in 2018 for the past 5 years now and it has never given me any issues, however, due to a passing storm over my island (I live in the Caribbean) my computer refuses to turn on anymore. I've opened it up and tested it by removing every component but the CPU, due to it being stuck and not having the tools needed like a heat gun to remove it. However it still doesn't power on, there is a red light on the motherboard's power button but pressing it also does nothing. I ended up taking it to a repair shop on the island (their arent many since its a small island) and it ended up working at the shop right away. Brought it back home and poof nothing. The guy ended up replacing the power supply and sent me back to test it out and still nothing. I called an electrician who tested the house's voltages, ground etc and even tried installing a new transformer and nothing changed. I even brought a UPS from work and it still failed to power the system yet for some odd reason it powers up at the technician's building and not any other place (I've also tested other buildings with no luck). Could this be a motherboard issue? I'm wondering if I should bite the bullet and buy an AM4 Motherboard online since apparently no store or even the IT technicians have one to swap and test it with.

My specs are as follows;

AMD Ryzen 5 2600X 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor (I know its a bottleneck)
Gigabyte GA-AX370-GAMING 5 ATX AM4 Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 CL16 Memory
MSI RTX 3070 GAMING X TRIO GeForce RTX 3070 8 GB Video Card
Corsair RM750x (2018) 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

[Mod edit: changed title for clarity from the unhelpful "I've tried almost everything on my Setup and nothing works.".]

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Brian Boru