PCG Article AI artist who won competition says art world is 'in denial' about the tech

"This technology exists, and it's creating pieces that prove it can do this now."

A.I. image generation software is causing "a sort of existential crisis right now" in the art community, referencing the disruptive technology of OpenAI as well as DALLE-2 and Midjourney (the software he used).

"Denial is the first step in the grieving process, perhaps (and I am deliberately saying PERHAPS) artists should go through the healing process to reach their acceptance of A.I.," writes Allen. "Because it is not going away and is only going to become more powerful.

There was also a lot of denial on here the last time I posted an AI article :p

Seriously, though, it's already replaced human artists on some game projects, and there are no limits on how good it can become. We're in the transition right now.

As an artist i think using AI to generate ideas is both good and bad. As someone who is creatively bankrupt i can see the power of a machine spinning ideas and seeing the various ideas angle and coming up with creative pieces. So commercially in certain areas, i think it has potential ( worryingly).

That said on the flip side, grim news. i haven't really read much into the story as honestly it won't affect me and my hobby. but winning a competition with the use of the Ai? The first question i would ask is how much did the Ai create? if it created 80% of the picture and just did some minor tweaks with filters etc, how can an artist justify that they did the work?