Gaming research

Aug 21, 2023
Visit site
I'm Suzannah, a 36 y/o gamer from the U.K. I am also a full time PhD student, completing my dream PhD looking at gaming, wellbeing and cognitive skills. I am currently working on the gaming and wellbeing element of my PhD and would like to invite you all to participate in my research if you are able to. Games often get such negative press, which I think is certainly not justified. Which is really what my research is aiming to do.
If you are able to help me out in my mission for gaming to be seen in a more positive light, please complete my questionnaire.
I will post the link below.
In order to take part you must be over the age of 18, be fluent (doesn't have to be native) in the English language (this is because there is a lot of reading involved) and free from any significant learning difficulty (again this is due to the amount of reading involved). There is also a chance to win £50 in Amazon vouchers for completing the questionnaire. This is a lottery which will be drawn once data collection has ended.

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!

I don't do questionaires. I'm not sure if they give an accurate insight into say gaming, or just how people fill out questionaires. I did start a thread on here about the Positive aspects of gaming.

There's also an article in today's Guardian, which points out that gaming companies (and platforms) collate massive amounts of data on gamers and their gaming habits, but don't usually make it available.
Some useful links in article.

Reactions: Brian Boru
Welcome to the forum :)

Survey looks very legit.

"the study will last approximately 30 minutes"
Accurate, took slowcoach me 27 minutes.

Suzannah, best of luck with your project :) Some Qs/comments:

Is this for worldwide audience, beyond the language stipulation? Seems possibly UK-skewed…

"the last three numbers of my mobile number"
Not everyone has mobile.

"the street that you live on"