Question Need advice from experienced PC gamers

Feb 21, 2021
Visit site
Hello!
Last month or so my PC has dropped in performance noticeably, especially with games. It is over 6 years old and it used to run games such as Witcher 3 at 60fps on High settings.
Out of nothing it stopped running games properly, it is incapable of running games at 60 fps anymore, and what's worse, the performance has dropped to 15-20 fps in "decent" games. Now I'm stuck playing pixel games during my free time.

I'm not a total beginner in computers. I've checked my GPU drivers, tried old ones; nothing. Tried running a GPU benchmark, doesn't look like it's overheating.

I know it could be plenty of things failing but I would appreciate your opinions and suggestions!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Specs:
Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4 GHz Quad-Core Processor

Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard

G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) DDR3-1600 CL9 Memory

Sapphire Radeon R9 280X 3 GB Vapor-X Video Card
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't remember what PSU I am using, but it was around the low-mid end, 6 years ago.

My guess would be: old PSU not giving my rig the necessary power anymore, or GPU becoming faulty.

Thank you all in advance!
Mark

Okay, a simple question. Are you running any new 3rd party software or apps in the background? Maybe you recently installed something minor or something new that has an in game overlay? It sounds dumb but these apps have been known to cause issues with glitching, lag and overall performance.

Feb 21, 2021
Visit site
Okay, a simple question. Are you running any new 3rd party software or apps in the background? Maybe you recently installed something minor or something new that has an in game overlay? It sounds dumb but these apps have been known to cause issues with glitching, lag and overall performance.