Advice on Laptop for working with 3D software

Jun 12, 2023
Visit site
Hi!

I'm considering buying a new laptop and I need some advice. I'm studying Animation & Game, so I need a laptop that can handle professional 3D and Game Engines software (i.e. Maya, ZBrush, Substance, Unity, Unreal, etc) and 3D rendering. I need this laptop to be reliable for the next couple years, as I probably won't have the money to upgrade again until I finish my studies and find a job. I'm not considering a desktop PC for various reasons, though I know that it would make things easier in terms of getting the best performance at a reasonable price point.

Here are my requirements:

Budget: max. 2500 €, though less would be preferred (incl. student or other discounts)

Size: not above 16" and as light as possible

Keyboard: not mechanical (regular laptop keyboards preferred), no num block preferred

Screen Resolution: min. Full HD

Portability: doesn't matter; will only be used at home

Battery Life: doesn't matter; will always be attached to the power cord
Games: not a priority; I assume if it can handle 3D software, it can handle games

Tasks: 3D modeling, texture painting, animating, simulations, rendering, etc. (Would be awesome, if I could render in the background and still continue working)

RAM: min. 32 GB, upgradeable to 64 GB preferred (dual channel with 2x 32 GB)

Storage: min. 1 TB SSD

Laptop Life: viable for min. 4-5 years

Brands: anything that's available in Europe, Germany and doesn't have crashing issues with 3D software (I've heard that some builds just don't work with Maya, for example, but I don't know specifics).

Additional Info: I can get student discounts from sites (i.e. 15% from Acer)

Grafics cards I've been considering: RTX 3070TI, 3080, 4060, 4070

Processors I've been considering: i7 12700H, 13620H, 13700H, 13900H, 13700H, i9 13900H, 13900HX

Laptops I'm considering: